ENDORSEMENT: Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)

Foreign Policy for America Action Network Endorses Rashida Tlaib for Congress (MI-13)

Former State Representative endorsed by
nonpartisan Foreign Policy for America Action Network


(Washington, D.C. – July 16) The Foreign Policy for America Action Network has endorsed Rashida Tlaib for the race in Michigan’s 13th Congressional district, the political action committee announced today.

“Rashida Tlaib is an extraordinary leader with a unique opportunity – the chance to become the first Muslim American woman elected to Congress,” said Andrew Albertson, Executive Director of Foreign Policy for America, “Her fearlessness in speaking out against the Trump administration’s xenophobic travel ban shows exactly why we need her voice in Washington today. Rashida will be a powerful voice for core American values – tolerance, openness, and the rule of law – and that’s we strongly support her candidacy for Congress.”

"Our foreign policy must be guided by compassion, humility, and an appreciation of the shared humanity of every person in our global community,” said Tlaib. “I'm proud to be endorsed by Foreign Policy for America, an organization that knows we must engage the world with diplomacy, and that is working hard to build a Congress full of representatives committed to peace and shared prosperity."

Tlaib served in the Michigan House of Representatives representing Michigan’s 6th District from 2009 to 2014, where she became the first Muslim American woman to serve in the Michigan Legislature and only the second Muslim American woman to serve in an American state legislature. Born and raised in Detroit to Palestinian immigrants, she has worked for environmental justice in Michigan throughout her career as a lawyer and activist, most recently as a people’s lawyer at the Sugar Law Center for Economic and Social Justice.

With today's announcement, Tlaib joins Lauren Baer (FL-18), Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Jason Crow (CO-6), Rufus Gifford (MA-3), Shannon Hader (WA-8), Ken Harbaugh (OH-7), Sen. Tim Kaine (VA), Andy Kim (NJ-3), Tom Malinowski (NJ-7), Amy McGrath (KY-6), Beto O’Rourke (TX), Gina Ortiz Jones (TX-23), Jacky Rosen (NV), Elissa Slotkin (MI-8), and Nancy Soderberg (FL-6) as candidates for Congress endorsed by the Foreign Policy for America Action Network in the 2018 election cycle.

Foreign Policy for America is a non-profit, nonpartisan advocacy organization. We engage, connect, and support citizens to promote foreign policy that keeps Americans safe and out of conflicts, advances the prosperity of all, and is true to our country’s highest values. The Foreign Policy for America Action Network is a nonpartisan political action committee (PAC) that helps elect federal candidates who champion strong, principled American foreign policy.

Media Contact: Andrew Albertson, 202-422-6804, press@fpactionnetwork.org.


Paid for by Foreign Policy for America Action Network, 722 12th St. NW, Washington, DC 20005.